Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors oversees and directs our operations and is accountable to our shareholders for results.
Home → Who We Are → Corporate Governance → Board of Directors

The OTML Board of Directors holds primary responsibility for the governance of OTML and operates in accordance with our constitution and applicable legislation.

Supporting the Board are three standing committees – Appointment and Remuneration, Audit and Risk and Safety Health, Environment and Community (SHEC).

Dr Roger Higgins

Director (Independent)

Date Appointed: 4 November 2014

Chairman – Safety, Health and Environment and Community

Dr Higgins holds a Bachelor of Engineering-Civil, a Master of Science and a Doctor of Philosophy.

He is a former OTML Managing Director and was Senior Vice President (Copper) for Teck Resources in Vancouver, Canada, Chief Operating Officer for BHP Billiton Base Metals in Adelaide, Australia and Vice President Project Development for BHP Billiton Base Metals in Santiago, Chile.

He is currently chairman of the OTML Safety and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC) and is a member of various other Boards including advisor and consultant to other mining companies.

He is currently an Adjunct Professor for Sustainable Minerals Institute at the University of Queensland.

Cameron Clark

General Manager Commercial, Chief Financial Officer & Company Secretary

Date Appointed: 1 December 2013

Secretary for the Board

Cameron brings to Ok Tedi more than 30 years business experience including 15 years in senior management roles within the mining industry, and mostly in PNG. Prior to that, he held senior management roles in the technology and liquor industries. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia and is a member of both CPA Australia and CPA PNG.

Cameron is a Member of the OTML Board Audit & Risk Committee and a Director of Kumul Minerals Holdings Limited.

Augustine Mano

Director (Independent)

Date Appointed: 23 August 2018

Chairman – Audit and Risk Committee

Augustine currently serves as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Mineral Resources Development Company (MRDC), a position he has held since March 2008.

In addition to holding a Master’s of Science in Petroleum Economics from Dundee University, Scotland, he holds a double Degree in Economics and Arts majoring in Environmental Science from the University of Papua New Guinea.

Augustine has extensive experience in the mining and petroleum industries with a focus on business development and investment management. He has previously served as a consultant to the Department of Petroleum and Energy. In his current role with MRDC, he manages major investments in property development and hospitality.

He serves as a director of MRDC and numerous related companies, Bank South Pacific, PNG Air, Hevilift Group and other private companies. He is also Chairman of the Pearl South Pacific Resort in Fiji, Star Mountains Plaza in PNG and Taumeasina Resort in Samoa.

Augustine is currently chairman of the OTML Audit and Risk Committee.

James Byron Chan

Director (Independent)

Date Appointed: 1 August 2018

Member – Audit and Risk Committee

Byron is a former Member for Parliament for the Namatanai Open Electorate and also the former Minister for Mining.

He was elected into the 7th National Parliament in the 2002 General Election as Member for Namatanai. He was twice re-elected in 2007 and 2012, holding his seat until the 2017 General Elections.

In 2011 he was appointed as Minister for Mining and held this ministerial portfolio for 6 years until the 2017 General Election. In that capacity, Byron was instrumental in introducing significant amendments to the Mineral Resources Authority Act 2005 as well as policy directives in the areas of Offshore Mining, Sustainable Mining Development and Mining Project Rehabilitation and Closure.

Prior to his parliamentary duties, Byron was engaged in Security Management in the Aviation industry.

Robert Kaiyun

Director (Independent)

Date Appointed: 23 August 2018

Member – Safety, Health and Environment and Community

Robert is the Provincial Administrator for Western Province. He was acting in this position from January 2018 until his permanent appointment in August 2018.

He holds a Diploma in Public Administration from the PNG Institute of Public Administration, in addition to a Bachelor of Management and a Master of Leadership in Business Administration from the Divine Word University in Madang.

Robert is chief advisor to the Fly River Provincial Government and team leader for the Western Province Administration, responsible for the implementation of policies, plans and programs for service delivery and development administration in the province.

He has been actively engaged in Local Level Government (LLG) functions in Western Province for a number of years – including responsibility for the coordination of LLG Operations, provision of strategic leadership and management of transport and institutional infrastructure development.

Staff Information Portal